March 26, 2023

Winner of Sierra Leone (2-1) and São Tomé and Príncipe (10-0), Nigeria is at the top of its qualifying group for CAN 2023 before facing its runner-up, Guinea Bissau, on March 24. (Abuja) and March 27 (Bissau) on the occasion of the 3e and 4e playoff days.

In view of these deadlines, the coach of the Super Eagles, José Peseiro, revealed this Thursday his list of 23 players summoned. Top scorer in these qualifiers (5 goals) and in thundering form with Naples, which he has just qualified for the quarter-finals of the Champions League, Victor Osimhen will be there and is making his comeback after missing both previous rallies on injury. Back also for the experienced Ahmed Musa, who had also been zapped in the fall.

Three players are called up for the first time. On the one hand, central defender Daniel Bameyi, aged only 17, and goalkeeper Chijoke Aniagboso (18), who have just won the bronze medal at the CAN U20. On the other hand goalkeeper Victor Sochima (24), author of remarkable performances in the Confederation Cup with Rivers United.

Two Ligue 1 players

Winger Moses Simon (Nantes) and Nice striker Terem Moffi allow Ligue 1 to be represented. Headliners Kelechi Iheanacho, Samuel Chukwueze, Ademola Lookman, Wilfred Ndidi and Alex Iwobi will also be there. Elements like Leon Balogun, Ola Aina, Peter Etebo, Emmanuel Dennis and Cyriel Dessers are on the other hand failed.

Nigeria’s 23

Guardians : Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Kingsley Aniagboso (Giant Brillars).

Defenders : Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce, Turkey); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Calvin Bassey (FC Ajax, Netherlands); Daniel Bameyi (YumYumFC); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal).

Midfielders : Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Joe Aribo (Southampton, England).

Attackers : Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta BC, Italy); Terem Moffi (OGC Nice, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Paul Onuachu (Southampton FC, England).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.