March 26, 2023

Ott Tänak leads Rally Mexico after two stages. Sébastien Ogier, who is making his return to competition on this occasion, is in fifth place less than three seconds behind the leader.

After the victory of Sébastien Ogier in Monte-Carlo and that of Ott Tänak in Sweden, who will triumph Sunday in Mexico for the third round of the world rally championship? Answer at the end of the 23 stages, but at the end of the first two, it is the Estonian who is at the top of the classification, with a second and seven tenths ahead of the world champion Kalle Rovanperä and two seconds and two tenths to another Finn, Esapekka Lappi.

The three main teams on the grid therefore each placed a car on the provisional podium.. The first two specials, contested on Thursday evening, consisted of a 1.12km loop through the streets of Guanajuato, in front of a large audience.. “Today was for fun, tomorrow the real work begins. Of course it won’t be an easy day but we have to maximize. Let’s see what tomorrow has in store for us – I’ve never driven this car on gravel before,” reacted Tänak, who arrived this winter dear M-Sport.

Ogier did not take any risks

Absent on the Swedish snow, Sébastien Ogier (39) returns to competition on the occasion of this Mexican rally which he has already won six times (2013, 2014, 2015, 2018, 2019, 2020). The Toyota driver is in fifth place after the first two stages, two seconds and eight tenths behind Tänak. ” I feel good. The real rally starts tomorrow. Tonight was all about staying off the pavement“, confided the Gapençais at the end of SS2. Friday, the pilots will leave the city for the great outdoors, with eight stages on the menu.

Ranking after 2 specials (out of 23) – Friday March 17, 2023
1- Ott Tänak – Martin Järveoja (EAST-EAST / Ford M-Sport) in 1h54’2
2- Kalle Rovanperä – Janne Halttunen (FIN-FIN / Toyota) at 1″7
3- Esapekka Lappi – Janne Ferm (FIN-FIN/Hyundai) at 2″2
4- Thierry Neuville – Martijn Wydaeghe (BEL-BEL/Hyundai) at 2″8
5- Sébastien Ogier – Vincent Landais (FRA-FRA / Toyota) at 2″8

Stage winners
Tanak: 2 (SS1, SS2)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.